TS Lombard's 2021 MacroFest

MacroFest Polls

In preparation for MacroFest we're excited to launch our new series of polls.

You'll see a number of questions on key topics that relate to our online virtual event. Take the poll now and we'll release the results closer to the event and of course dissect, discuss and debate them at MacroFest itself!

 

Day One: Global Macro & Strategy
Tuesday 12th January 2021
Covering:

  1. Looking through the recovery: What is normal anyway?
  2. Inflation: Why growth roars back next year but inflation doesn't
  3. The virus, the vaccine, the K and the scars
  4. How to position for the recovery and beyond.


Day Two: Deep Dive

Wednesday 13th January 2021
Covering:

  1. The coming energy transformation
  2. What are the alternatives?
  3. RCEP: Making Asia Great Again
  4. The next currency war
  5. The three biggest risks this year

TS Lombard’s January MacroFest
Looking through the recovery: What is Normal Anyway?

Does everything go back to normal in 2021, and what is normal anyway? Join TS Lombard’s MacroFest on the 12th and 13th of January to find out what this new normal will look like and what it means for financial markets and investors in 2021 and beyond.

Among many questions we'll address across the two days we will be talking about:

1)     The consensus says next year is all about Goldilocks growth leading to the roaring twenties. Is it really that simple?
2)     Will – and should – easy fiscal policy survive the recovery?
3)     The dollar decline view is consensus. Does next year herald the start of the next currency war?
4)     What are the three biggest risks for 2021?

* MacroFest is accredited for 3 CPD points for each day or 6 in total. Attendance qualifies for CFA Institute CE pointsCPDMember-logo-1

Day One: Global Macro & Strategy

Tuesday 12th January 2021

  • 14:00 - 14:40 GMT (09:00 - 09:40 EST) - Looking through the recovery: What is normal anyway? Back to normal after the vaccine,  but we explore why normal is different.
    Speakers: Nick Bourne as moderator with Charles Dumas, Chief Economist, & Steven Blitz, Chief US Economist
  • 14:40 - 15:10 GMT (09:40 - 10:10 EST) - Inflation: Why growth roars back next year but inflation doesn’t.
    Speakers: Martin Shenfield as moderator with Shweta Singh. Managing Director Global Macro

  • 15:20 - 15:50 GMT (10:20 - 10:50 EST) - The virus, the vaccine, the K and the scars.
    Speakers: Christopher Granville in conversation with Dario Perkins, Managing Director, Global Macro

  • 16:00 - 16:30 GMT (11:00 - 11:30 EST) - Strategy Focus. How to position for the recovery and beyond. 
    Speakers: Jon Harrison, Managing Director, EM Macro Strategy, in conversation with Andrea Cicione, Head of Strategy
Register here for our Tuesday 12th January 2021 event

Day Two: Deep Dive

Wednesday 13th January 2021

The Energy Transformation

What you should focus on for this huge transformation.

14.00 - 14.30 GMT (09:00 - 09:30 EST)
Speakers:
Christopher Granville, Managing Director, Global Political Research, in conversation with Konstantinos Venetis, Senior Economist, Grace Fan, Managing Director, Global Policy Research and Disruptive Themes Research, and Marcus Chenevix, MENA Analyst

RCEP: Making Asia Great Again

Is China centred Asia the future? What does de-Americanisation, RCEP, DCS mean for investors in the next cycle?

15.10 - 15.40 GMT (10:10 - 10:40 EST)
Speakers:
Larry Brainard, Chief EM Economist, in conversation with Shumita Deveshwar, Director, India Research and Rory Green, China and North Asia Economist

What are the alternatives?

The end of 60/40 investing: the new era of asset allocation is here.

14.30 - 15:00 GMT (09:30 - 10:00 EST)
Speakers: Martin Shenfield in conversation with Andrea Cicione, Head of Strategy, and Andrew Lawrence, Asia Property Analyst

The Next Currency War

The Next Currency War for Emerging Markets 

15.40 - 16:10 GMT (10:40 - 11:10 EST)
Speakers: Oliver Brennan, Head of Research, in conversation with Bo Zhuang, Chief China Economist, and Jon Harrison, Managing Director, EM Macro Strategist

Register here for our Wednesday 13th January 2021 event


Closing Session

The 3 biggest risks this year.

Every year there are major risks lurking for markets, this year is no different. We highlight our three main risks that investors should watch out for.

16:20 - 17:00 GMT (11:20 - 12:00 EST)
Speakers: Nick Bourne in conversation with Dario Perkins, Managing Director, Global Macro

Register here for our Wednesday 13th January 2021 event

Managing Director
Nick Bourne-2

Nick Bourne

Show Profile
Chief Economist
Charles Dumas-1

Charles Dumas

Show Profile
Chief US Economist
Steven Blitz-Dec-08-2020-10-34-57-34-AM

Steven Blitz

Show Profile
MD, Strategy
Martin Shenfield-1

Martin Shenfield

Show Profile
MD, Global Macro
Shweta Singh-2

Shweta Singh

Show Profile
MD, Political Research
Christopher Granville-3

Christopher Granville

Show Profile
MD, Global Macro
Dario Perkins-1

Dario Perkins

Show Profile
MD, EM Strategy
Jon Harrison-1

Jon Harrison

Show Profile
Head of Strategy
Andrea Cicione-2

Andrea Cicione

Show Profile
Senior Economist
Konstantinos Venetis-1

Konstantinos Venetis

Show Profile
MD, Global Policy Research
Grace Fan2

Grace Fan

Show Profile
Asia Property Analyst
Andrew Lawrence-2

Andrew Lawrence

Show Profile
Chief EM Economist
Lawrence Brainard-1

Lawrence Brainard

Show Profile
MD, India Research
Shumita Sharma Deveshwar-1

Shumita Deveshwar

Show Profile
Economist, China and North Asia
Rory Green-3

Rory Green

Show Profile
Head of Research
Oliver Brennan-1

Oliver Brennan

Show Profile
Chief China Economist
Bo Zhuang-1

Bo Zhuang

Show Profile